Local News

The South Dakota Transportation Commission awarded 35 Preliminary Engineering Bridge Improvement Grants (BIG) totaling approximately $1.345 million at their meeting today in Pierre. 


The remaining $13.655 million in BIG funds will be used for Preservation, Rehabilitation and Replacement grants to be approved by next April.   


Grant recipients are: city of Aberdeen, Aurora County (2), Beadle County (3), Bon Homme County, Brookings County, Brown County, Butte County (3), Davison County, Day County (2), city of Gary (2), Grant County, Hamlin County, Hanson County, Jackson County, Lawrence County (3), Lincoln County, Lyman County, Perkins County, Roberts County (2), Sanborn County, and Union County (5).


Forty-one applications totaling $1.58 million were received by the South Dakota Department of Transportation (SDDOT). Two cities submitted three applications and 22 counties submitted a total of 38 applications.


Local governments are required to pay a minimum of 20 percent matching funds and have three years to expend the grant. Counties must have a wheel tax and a five-year Highway and Bridge Improvement Plan to receive a grant.


The BIG program was created in 2015 by Senate Bill 1. SB 1 set aside $7 million per year from funds generated by license plate fees to be used to repair and replace aging local bridges. The SDDOT adds an additional $8 million annually, making $15 million available.


The next round of BIG program applications is due Jan. 2, 2019, for the Preservation, Rehabilitation and Replacement categories. Applications are available online at:


For more information regarding the BIG program, contact Doug Kinniburgh at 605-773-4284.