The Minnesota state senate Thursday approved legislation that will require drivers to use some kind of hands free device while talking on the phone while driving. The bill passed the senate by a 48-12 vote and Gov. Tim Walz has already made clear he plans to sign the bill. The law will take effect August 1st. Minnesota joins 16 other states and the District of Columbia with similar distracted driving laws in effect. Violators caught will be forced to pay a $50 fine which jumps up to $275 after that.