Local News

Residents of 11 South Dakota counties and two reservations may now register with FEMA. Registration opens the door to a number of federal disaster assistance programs, as well as referrals to other forms of aid.


Residents who suffered damage from the tornadoes, severe storms or flooding in Brookings, Charles Mix, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, Moody, Yankton counties and the Flandreau and Yankton Indian Reservations are eligible to register.


There are several ways to register:

  •          Go online to or (for Spanish).
  •          Use the FEMA mobile app in English or Spanish.
  •          Call the disaster assistance helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or 800-462-7585 (TTY) anytime from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. local time seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are available.


It is important that people complete the registration process with FEMA even if they have previously called their local emergency manager, 2-1-1, or a local voluntary agency like the Red Cross to report disaster damage.  FEMA also encourages individuals to contact their insurance agent to report any losses.