Welcome to our new site!

In Touch

In Touch 4/19/24

The folks from Northern State join us to talk about the upcoming “Bourbon and Brews” event…

In Touch 4/18/24

Gene Morsching from the Aberdeen Community Concert series joins us to talk about the upcoming “Big Band” show and more…

Sobriety checkpoints planned for parts of South Dakota in July

South Dakota’s Department of Public Safety has announced the list of sobriety checkpoints planned statewide for the month of July. 

The 15 sobriety checkpoints will be held in 14 different counties. The monthly checkpoints are designed to encourage people to not drink and drive.  

July checkpoints are scheduled for the counties of: Beadle, Bennett, Brookings, Campbell, Charles Mix, Fall River, Jackson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Minnehaha, Pennington, Roberts, Stanley and Yankton.

Officials remind drivers not to drink and drive regardless of whether there is a checkpoint planned in their county. People who have been drinking are urged to designate a sober driver or take an alternate form of commercial or public transportation.

The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement. Both the Office of Highway Safety and the Highway Patrol are agencies of the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.