Welcome to our new site!

In Touch

In Touch 6/18/24

The folks from Aberdeen Roncalli join us to talk about things going on at the Catholic School System and beyond this month…

In Touch 6/14/24

Eric Kline with Northern State joins us to give us an update on NSU…

South Dakota State John Stiegelmeier named AFCA National Coach of the Year in FCS football

(Gojacks.com) South Dakota State’s John Stiegelmeier claimed another national award Monday as he was selected as the 2022 American Football Coaches Association National Coach of the Year for the Football Championship Subdivision.

Stiegelmeier earned his first AFCA National Coach of the Year honor after leading the Jackrabbits to a 14-1 record, their first outright Missouri Valley Football Conference title and the program’s first national championship. In 26 seasons with the Jackrabbits, Stiegelmeier has amassed an overall record of 199-112 and has led South Dakota State to 11 straight appearances in the FCS playoffs, including reaching the semifinals in five of the last six years.

Other national award winners were TCU’s Sonny Dykes (FBS), Colorado School of Mines’ Brandon Moore (NCAA Division II), Steve Johnson of Bethel (Minn.) (NCAA Division III) and Northwestern (Iowa) head coach Matt McCarty (NAIA).

The winners are selected by a vote of the active AFCA members at four-year schools in the Association’s five divisions. The AFCA has named a Coach of the Year since 1935. The AFCA?Coach of the Year award is the oldest of all the Coach of the Year awards and is the only one chosen exclusively by coaches. Stiegelmeier became a finalist for the award after being selected as Region 4 Coach of the Year for FCS in December.

This past weekend, Coach Stig was presented the 2022 Eddie Robinson Award, which is given annually by Stats Perform to the FCS coach of the year. In addition, Jackrabbit defensive coordinator Jimmy Rogers was honored as FCS National Coordinator of the Year by FootballScoop.com.